MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

3 Graduate School faculty members named AAAS Fellows

December 18, 2018
Tracey Barnett

Three faculty members from The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences have been named 2018 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows.

The newly elected AAAS Fellows are:

Jeffrey E. Gershenwald, M.D., is a professor in the Departments of Surgical Oncology and Cancer Biology at MD Anderson Cancer Center, and has been a GSBS faculty member for 14 years. Gershenwald is being recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of clinical and translational medicine, particularly for evidence-based advances in melanoma staging and prognosis and molecular classification of melanoma.

Jacqueline T. Hecht, Ph.D., is a professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, and an associate dean for research at the School of Dentistry. At the Graduate School, she is affiliated with the Programs in Genetic Counseling and Genetics and Epigenetics. Hecht is being recognized for her outstanding research contributions to the understanding of the genetic causes of musculoskeletal and craniofacial disorders, and for educational and service contributions to genetic counseling.

Patrick Hwu, M.D., is head of the division of Cancer Medicine, chair of the Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology at MD Anderson. At the Graduate School, he is affiliated with the Program in Immunology. Hwu is being honored for his distinguished contributions in the development of novel cancer immunotherapies, vaccines, and rational combinations of targeted immunotherapies, and for improving treatment outcomes for cancer patients.

The Fellows, announced Nov. 27, will be recognized at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. During a Fellows Forum on Feb. 16, they will be presented with an official certificate and the AAAS Fellows’ gold and blue rosette pin, the colors of which represent the fields of science and engineering respectively.

Read more at the AAAS website.

site var = gsbs