MD Anderson Cancer Center - UTHealth
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

5 GSBS faculty members elected to AAAS

November 21, 2017
Tracey Barnett

Five faculty members from The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences have been named 2017 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows.

The newly elected AAAS Fellows are:

Michael R. Blackburn, Ph.D., dean of the Graduate School; vice chairman and professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology,  McGovern Medical School at UTHealth; executive vice president and chief academic officer, UTHealth. Blackburn is being honored for his distinguished contributions to the field of lung disease, remodeling and repair, particularly using animal models to elucidate the role of adenosine signaling in acute lung injury, asthma, pulmonary fibrosis and pulmonary hypertension.

John V. Heymach, M.D., Ph.D., chair and professor, Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology, MD Anderson Cancer Center, honored for identifying new therapeutic targets, biomarkers, mechanisms of drug resistance and treatment paradigms that have advanced the treatment of lung cancer worldwide.

Frederick C. Lang, M.D., professor, Neurosurgery, MD Anderson, honored for contributions to the field of cancer biotherapeutics, particularly for developing and translating gene, adenoviral and stem cell therapies in the treatment of brain tumors.

Zhimin (James) Lu, M.D., Ph.D., professor, Neuro-Oncology, MD Anderson, honored for milestone discoveries that elucidated mechanisms of the Warburg effect, demonstrated protein kinase activity of metabolic enzymes and revealed non-metabolic functions of metabolic enzymes in tumorigenesis.

Shao-Cong Sun, Ph.D., professor, Immunology, MD Anderson, honored for his contributions to the understanding of NF-kB signaling pathways and the regulation of immune responses and inflammatory diseases by protein ubiquitination.

This year, the AAAS awarded 396 members this honor because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Friday, Nov. 24. The new Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 17, 2018, at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science as well as Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, a digital, open-access journal, Science Advances, Science Immunology, and Science Robotics. Founded in 1848, the AAAS includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.

site var = gsbs