MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

D. Dudley and Judy White Oldham Faculty Award

This award was established in 2018 by D. Dudley and Judy White Oldham, a member of the UTHealth Development Board and avid supporter of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, with sincerest appreciation of the dedication and hard work that faculty members put into training the next generation scientists.

The purpose of the award is to recognize an exceptional faculty member who consistently demonstrates excellence in service and leadership at the GSBS. The recipient will receive a $4,000 cash prize and a commemorative plaque. All cash awards are funded by D. Dudley and Judy White Oldham Faculty Award endowment.


We encourage nominations from both GSBS faculty and students. Faculty who have been members of the GSBS for less than one year are not eligible for nomination, nor are department chairs, division heads and members of the GSBS Deans’ Office.  

Your nomination of a GSBS faculty member using the form below should highlight his or her accomplishments in teaching and mentorship and the impact those achievements have had on the GSBS

For further information, please contact Kristina Fern in the GSBS Deans’ Office at or 713-500-9857.

Oldham Faculty Award Nomination Form: 

Please complete the Nomination Form to nominate a faculty member for D. Dudley and Judy White Oldham Faculty Award. Nominations are not being taken at this time.

Recipients of the Oldham Award:

John P. McGovern Award for Outstanding Teaching

Every year GSBS students nominate and vote for the winner of the John P. McGovern Award for Outstanding Teaching. The award recognizes excellence in teaching based on the following criteria:

The call for nominations is made in February each year by the Graduate Student Association and the award is presented to the recipient at commencement.

Recipients of the McGovern Award:

Paul E. Darlington Mentor Award for GSBS Faculty

Paul E. Darlington, Ph.D. served GSBS for many years as its Associate Dean and for a few years as Interim Dean. Though he made many valuable contributions to GSBS, Dr. Darlington is best remembered as a proponent of excellence in mentoring.  Upon his retirement, this award was established in his honor to recognize, with an honorarium of $2,000, a current GSBS faculty member who has made an exceptional impact, as a mentor, on students and faculty.  A call for nominations is made in the spring each year by the Deans' Office.  

To be eligible for this award, the nominee must: 

Note: Previous winners of the award are ineligible to be nominated; self-nominations will not be accepted.

Questions and nominations should be directed to Kristina Fern in the GSBS Office of Academic Affairs.

Recipients of the Darlington Award:

T. C. Hsu Research Award in Genetics or Cell Biology

This award was established in 2007 by Margaret Hsu, daughter of the late T. C. Hsu, renowned scientist in cell genetics.  This is a ten-year commitment by Ms. Hsu of approximately $10,000 annually to honor and support an exceptional GSBS faculty member who is not yet tenured but on tenure track in the scientific areas of genetics or cell biology. The award may be renewed up to 3 years.

Questions should be directed to Susan Simon in the GSBS Office of Public Affairs and Development.

Recipients of the T. C. Hsu Research Award: