MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

2021 GSBS Kopchick Fellow

Jennifer Hurtig: Mentor Dr. Ambro van Hoof


2021 Medical School Research Retreat Poster Winner

Unekwu Yakubu: Mentor Dr. Kevin Morano


2020-2021 GSBS & Local Scholarships/Fellowships

2021 Investing in Student Futures Fellowship

Anh Trinh Nguyen: Mentor Dr. Anne-Marie Krachler


2019-2021 NIH Diversity Supplement

Erika Flores: Mentor Dr. Anne-Marie Krachler


2020 Deans Research Scholarship Award

Alexandra Berroyer: Mentor Dr. Nayun Kim

(also co-president of the American Society for Microbiology Texas Medical Center Chapter)


ASM Texas Branch Goldschmidt Graduate Student Award

April Nguyen: Mentor Dr. Cesar Arias


GSBS Endowment Scholarship

Minseon Kim: Mentor Dr. Ambro van Hoof


Selected for the Scientist Mentoring and Diversity Program in BioTech

Unekwu Yakubu and Alec Santiago: Mentor Dr. Kevin Morano


MID successfully defended thesis

FALL 2020

Wahaj Zuberi, Advisor: Nayun Kim, PhD

  MS Thesis: A Pharmacological Strategy against African Sleeping Sickness

Minseon Kim, Advisor: Ambro Van Hoof

          PhD Thesis: Functions of Dcp2 and Ski7 in mRNA Degradation



Ayesha Mahmood, Advisor: Charles Darkoh, PhD

   MS Thesis: Mechanistic Insights into Vancomycin Resistance in Clostridium (Clostridioides) difficile



Robert Williams, Advisor: Michael Lorenz, PhD

PhD Thesis: Alternative Carbon Utilization as a Virulence Determinant for Candida albicans

Ayesha Khan, Advisor: Cesar Arias, MD, MSc, PhD

PhD Thesis: Molecular Mechanisms of Antimicrobial Resistance in Multi-Drug Resistant Enterococci

Kara Schoenemann, Advisor: William Margolin, PhD

 PhD Thesis: Mutations Within and Between Early Cell Division Proteins and their Effects on Division Regulation in Escherichia Coli