Skip to Content

3 students receive Kopchick Fellowship renewals

February 18, 2019
Tracey Barnett

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences is proud to announce the 2019 renewal recipients of the Dr. John J. Kopchick Fellowships:

Marisa Aitken
Advisor: Sean Post, Ph.D.
Research project:  hnRNP K: A driver of myeloid malignancy

Rachel Dittmar
Advisor: Subrata Sen, Ph.D.
Research project: Driver mutation signatures and exosomal biomarkers in the development of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma

Lalit Patel
Advisor: Dean Michelle Barton, Ph.D.
Research project: Recurrent tissue-specific DNA lesions cause TRIM24 overexpression in human solid tumors through trans-effects

 These fellowships are funded through a generous $10.5 million endowment established by alumnus John J. Kopchick, Ph.D., and his wife, Charlene. Read about more about this gift here.

The Dr. John J. Kopchick Fellowships are awarded to six students who demonstrate exceptional character, extracurricular leadership, research excellence and scholarly merit. Each fellowship provides $7,500 directly to the student and an additional $7,500 to support their research and training. These fellowships may be renewed for a total award period of up to two years.

site var = gsbs