Skip to Content

nav = Academics

GS21 1017: Foundations of Biomedical Research

GS21 1018: Foundations of Biomedical Research for Quantitative Students

Course Directors: 
Swathi Arur, PhD
Sarur@mdanderson.org
Office Hours: Email Dr. Arur to set up an appointment

Michael Lorenz, PhD
Michael.Lorenz@uth.tmc.edu
Office Hours: Email Dr. Lorenz to set up an appointment

Course Coordinator:
Wassim Chehab, PhD
Elamir.W.Chehab@uth.tmc.edu
BSRB S3.8435
Office Hours: Email Dr. Chehab to set up an appointment

Biostatistics Module Instructor:
John Magnotti, PhD
John.Magnotti@uth.tmc.edu
Office Hours: Email Dr. Magnotti to set up an appointment

Regular Module TA (Week 1-7)
Lee-Ann Notice
Lee.Notice@uth.tmc.edu
Office Hours: Email Lee-Ann to set up an appointment

Regular Module TA (Week 1-14)
Sarah Lach
Sarah.Lach@uth.tmc.edu
Office Hours: Email Sarah to set up an appointment

Biostats Module TA : TBA

Applied Next Generation Sequencing Module TA: 
Chase Hutchins
Chase.M.Hutchins@uth.tmc.edu
Office Hours: Email Chase to set up an appointment

Next Generation Sequencing Module TA:  TBA

Dates: August 29 - December 9, 2022 
         
 ( No class on Labor Day [Sept. 5] and Thanksgiving Week [Nov. 21-25])

When: Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays (8:30 am - 11:00 am)  
            
Tuesdays (8:30 am - 10:15 am) 
            Thursdays (8:30 am - 9:45 am) 

Where: The Regular and Applied Next Generation Sequencing Modules will be held in Onstead Auditorium

              The  Biostats Module will be held Via Zoom. (Zoom link information is provided on the Canvas Core Course Website).   

Grades: A-F (GS21 1017) or P/F (GS21 1018)

DATE 2022 WEEK TOPIC TOPIC LEADER
Aug 29 - Sept 2 Week 1 How Did We Get Here: A Brief History of Biomedical Science Lorenz
Sept 5 - 9 Week 2 Genetics Arur
Sept 12 - 16 Week 3 DNA structure, Replication, Chromatin, epigenetics, transcription Bartholomew
Sept 19- 23 Week 4 Cell Cycle, DNA Damage  and Repair Machinery  Cole
Sept 26 - Sept 30 Week 5 RNA and the Transcriptome van Hoof
Oct 3 - 7 Week 6 Birth and Destruction of Proteins  Denicourt
Oct 10 - 14 Week 7 Cell Biology Kim
Oct 17 - 21 Week 8 Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Motility  Eisenhoffer
Oct 24 - 28 Week 9 Extracellular and Intracellular Signaling Cunha
Oct 31 - Nov 4 Week 10 Developmental Biology Behringer/Miller
Nov 7 - 11 Week 11 Infectious Diseases and Antimicrobial Drug Resistance Lorenz / Arur
Nov 14 - 18 Week 12 Immune cells, functions and therapies Reuben
Nov 21 - 25 Thanksgiving No core course classes this week N/A
Nov 28 - Dec 2 Week 13 Introduction to Quantitative Sciences Sahni and Hart
Dec 5 - 9 Week 14 Neuroscience Venkatachalam


Core Course FAQs