Skip to Content

Community Outreach

ABOUT US

We are a student-run organization parented by MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences that aims to help serve the Houston community by increasing science understanding and awareness to make a better future.

We organize and coordinate a wide range of outreach activities with the community, including but not limited to, science fairs, career fairs, science lectures/demonstrations, MD Anderson and UT Health lab tours, and more! If you would like to organize an event with us, please see our ‘contact us’ page.

Outreach2020officers



GOALS

  • Encourage and improve student interest and performance in science
  • Support teachers and educational programs in science
  • Provide GSBS students with the opportunity to learn valuable teaching skills
  • Provide a useful service to the community



OFFICERS AND COORDINATORS

Heather Sonnemann, President  hmsonnemann@mdanderson.org
Mikey Clowers, Vice President Michael.Clowers@uth.tmc.edu
Avery Salmon, Secretary Avery.Salmon@uth.tmc.edu
Caitlynn Barrows, Treasurer Caitlynn.Barrows@uth.tmc.edu
Sonia Patel, Media Relations Coordinator Sonia.Patel@uth.tmc.edu
Safia Essien, Coordinator SAEssien1@mdanderson.org
Carolina Garcia Garcia, Coordinator CJGarcia1@mdanderson.org
Summer Biomedical Academy

Updated information is coming soon for the Biomedical Academy!