Skip to Content

Community Outreach

ABOUT US

The Community Outreach group is a student-run organization parented by MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences that aims to help serve the Houston community by increasing science understanding and awareness to make a better future.

We organize and coordinate a wide range of outreach activities with the community, including but not limited to, science fairs, career fairs, science lectures/demonstrations, MD Anderson and UT Health lab tours, and more! Contact us if you would like to organize an event!


GOALS

  • Encourage and improve student interest and performance in science
  • Support teachers and educational programs in science
  • Provide GSBS students with the opportunity to learn valuable teaching skills
  • Provide a useful service to the community



OFFICERS AND COORDINATORS

Caitlynn Barrows, President 

Caitlynn.Barrows@uth.tmc.edu

Heather Sonnemann, Vice President

hmsonnemann@mdanderson.org

Gema Sunga, Secretary

Gemalene.Sunga@uth.tmc.edu

Andrea Hernandez, Co-Treasurer

Andrea.Hernandez@uth.tmc.edu

Lei Yang, Co-Treasurer

lyang15@mdanderson.org

Sonia Patel, Media Relations Coordinator

Sonia.Patel@uth.tmc.edu

Hana Baroudi, Coordinator

hbaroudi@mdanderson.org

Safia Essien, Coordinator

SAEssien1@mdanderson.org

Melissa Frasca, Coordinator

mnfrasca1@mdanderson.org

Sreeja Sridharan, Coordinator

SSridharan@mdanderson.org

Tanvi Visal, Coordinator

thvisal@mdanderson.org

Amanda Warner, Coordinator

awarner2@mdanderson.org

Michelle Winkler, Coordinator

MWinkler@mdanderson.org

Mary Gronberg, Honorary Coordinator

MPeters1@mdanderson.org

Keri Schadler, PhD, Faculty Advisor

klschadl@mdanderson.org

Summer Biomedical Academy

Please check back in January/February of 2023 for more information about the program and application instructions.

Science Night 2023

Details coming soon!

Events

October 15th 2022

GSBS Community Outreach hosts Houston ArBOOretum Volunteer Event

Join the GSBS Community Outreach student group at the annual Houston ArBOOretum volunteer event! Sign up here!
View More

Bridge to College and Career Success Mentoring Program

GSBS Outreach has started a new mentoring this fall called the Bridge to College and Career Success Mentoring Program. It is a longitudinal mentoring program that pairs local underrepresented minority high school and college students with current GSBS students to learn more about the STEM field. Our GSBS students provide their insight on their own STEM journey and provide personalized advice on how these students can seek out opportunities to learn more about future careers in STEM.

Thank you to our 2021-2022 mentors!

Heather Tsong
Michelle Winkler
Taylor Halsey
Raisa Reyes
Nicole Paige Stevens
Chioma Odo
Amanda Warner
Takese McKenzie
Maxsam Donta
Rocio Zorrilla
Lan Phi
Melissa Frasca
Soleil Hernandez
Jose Enriquez
Mason Thomas Ruiz
Alexandra Buckner
Rachel Van Drunen
Swami Kumar
Anna Naglis
KC Chen
Yiming Cai
Sujanitha Umamaheswaran
Jamie Tran
Xu Zhang
Mary Figueroa
Shun-Ming Ting
Josue Pineda
Kai Huang
Cana Quave
April Nguyen