Skip to Content

nav = Cancer Answers

Cancer Answers: Sowell-Huggins Endowment

Cancer Answers2

The Andrew Sowell/Wade Huggins Endowed Scholarship Fund was established in 1991 by Joann Sowell and Marcia Huggins Jahncke in appreciation for the successful treatment of their sons at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and in recognition that the hope of defeating cancer lies in those dedicated to research. The scholars, chosen from outstanding students at the MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS), are engaged in research at UTHealth and MD Anderson Cancer Center. In 1996, Joann and Marcia formed Cancer Answers to be the fundraising arm of the endowment.

Among the faces of UTHealth, our students stand out. They are the reason for so much of what we do. We are grateful that through your tremendous support, they will have the resources to reach their fullest potential and help solve the greatest health challenges of our time. - Kevin J. Foyle, Vice President for Development and Public Affairs, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Current Recipients:

2020-2021 Andrew Sowell-Wade Huggins Professors and Fellow:

Walaa Kattan and John Hancock, MB, BChir, PhD

2020-2021 Andrew Sowell-Wade Huggins Scholars in Cancer Research:

Swetha Anandhan - (Advisor: Padmanee Sharma, MD, PhD)
Rumi Lee (Advisor: Ronald DePinho, MD)
Ye Li (Advisor: Katy Rezvani, MBBS, PhD)
Ziqiao Wang (Advisor: Peng Wei, PhD)
Mikayla Waters (Advisor: Melinda Yates, PhD)
Yao Zhao (Advisor: Jinzhong Yang, PhD)

2020-2021 Cancer Answers/Sylvan Rodriguez Scholar:

Iman Sahnoune (Advisor: George Calin, MD, PhD

2020-2021 Sylvan Rodriguez Foundation Scholars honoring George M. Stancel, PhD:

Angel Garces (Advisor: David Grosshans, MD, PhD)


Select the Designation: GSBS Cancer Answers Endowment Fund

For more information, please contact Susan M. Simon, Director of Development, Office of Development, representing GSBS

 Susan M. Simon

Susan M. Simon
Phone: 713.500.3118