MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Immunology Graduate Program

Principles of immunology have been applied to create numerous preventative and curative therapeutics for many types of human disease. The Immunology Graduate Program, offered by MD Anderson UTHealth Graduate School (GSBS), is designed to provide high-quality, comprehensive education and research training in the exciting field of immunology, allowing graduates to successfully pursue careers as independent investigators in academia or industry.

We currently have 51 faculty members from both MD Anderson and The University of Texas Health Science Center-Houston representing 26 departments. Collectively, research conducted by our faculty reflects the complexity and diversity of the immune system. Main areas of faculty research include cancer immunology, infectious diseases, and inflammation with special interests in innate responses, adaptive responses, immune regulation, development of prophylactic vaccines, and development of vaccines or immunotherapy for a form of cancer, allergy or autoimmunity. Faculty members are committed to fostering a highly interactive and supportive environment that enables students to complete our rigorous curriculum and receive advanced training in basic and translational immunology research.


MD Anderson immunologist Jim Allison awarded Nobel Prize.

Jim Allison, PhD., chair of Immunology and executive director of the immunotherapy platform at MD Anderson, has been awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for launching an effective new way to attack cancer by treating the immune system rather than the tumor.

Read more in the Newsroom.

Congratulations, Dr. Allison!

The Immunology Graduate Program will host its annual student-organized Research Retreat, which includes student talks, poster sessions, and a keynote speaker. This year’s retreat will take place at Moody Gardens Hotel, Galveston on Friday, October 19th and Saturday, October 20thDr. Darrell J. Irvine, PhD of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology will be the keynote speaker. For questions regarding the retreat, please contact Gloria Sierra, Anu Srinivasamani, or Sumedha Pareek.

Congratulations to these Immunology Program students for their accomplishments during the 2018-2019 Academic Year:

Students affiliated with legacy programs (i.e., those that existed before the GSBS program reorganization), may click here to find information about their program requirements.